Slow going

I have made little headway into book 2. About five pages right at the very beginning, and then about five pages from somewhere in the middle. I was convinced that I can’t get into it because either it’s not a very good idea for a story, or that I’m rubbish, or a combination of both (please feel free to chip in and tell me this is nonsense). But I’m now of the opinion that reading, having someone else’s voices and thoughts in my head, is causing a huge distraction. I’ve read in a couple of  ‘how to’ books it’s utter nonsense that reading should detract from your own writing. But I’m certain that it’s stifling the voices that should be in my head.

Leave a Reply

